Paper Adventures Team Blog Hop – Birthdays

Paper Adventures - Blog Hop Header white jpg

I love birthdays. Presents, cake, handmade cards, what’s not to love?

For our fearless leader Kelly’s birthday blog hop I was pretty happy to bust out my favourite birthday set from Stampin’ Up! – ‘Big on Birthdays’. It’s a gorgeous set from the 2017 Occasions catalogue but it’s carrying over to the 2017-18 Annual Catalogue.

I love this cheeky “at least you’re still pretty” stamp and was looking forward to having an excuse to use it. I know Kelly will appreciate the humour. This gorgeous little photo frame was just perfect to mount the stamp on Shimmery White, Lemon Lime Twist, and Berry Burst cardstock. I thought about colouring it in but decided I loved the simple black and white effect behind the glitter in the frame.

_WHP9401

_WHP9395

A few of us were having the conversation the other day about how on trend the new In Color colours are. So when I saw this beautiful tea cup from Maxwell & Williams I thought how amazing it was that is a combination of the new In Colours. I’m not sold yet on a couple of the individual colours but I think they look so beautiful together.

_WHP9404

I’m really into simple but striking cards right now. For this card I watercolored each of the new colours onto watercolour paper and mounted it on Lemon Lime Twist and Berry Burst card (which seems to be my favourite colour combination at the moment). The ‘Happy Birthday’ is the fabulous new ‘Happy Birthday Thinlits Die’ from the upcoming Annual Catalogue. It cuts beautifully and looks so striking.

_WHP9408

In honour of the birthday girl I treated myself to a pot of tea and large slice of cake (but I promise I didn’t use your pretty new cup, Kelly).

_WHP9413

 

_WHP9417

The wrapping repeats the use of the Happy Birthday thinlit and the new in colours. The papers on the box on the left (made with the Gift Bag Punch Board) are not SU papers but it just shows how on trend these colours are as they are popping up everywhere.

_WHP9419

 

_WHP9423

I think I’m going to get a lot of use out this thinlit, I can think of so many ways to use it. Last week I made a birthday cake for my sister in law and used it as a cake topper. Easy peasy and so striking.

_WHP8997

_WHP9000

_WHP9012

So happy birthday, Kelly! Now that I’ve photographed and blogged your birthday presents I can pop them in the mail to you (haha!).

And now it’s over to Sheila to see what she has come up with for our birthday theme.

Thanks for dropping in on High Trees House!

S.

 

Paper Adventures - Next white jpg

 

Birthday Blog Hop
Lou Kitzelman (Guest Designer) –
Siobhan Fitzsimmons (that’s me!!)
10 thoughts on “Paper Adventures Team Blog Hop – Birthdays

  1. Kelly Kent says:

    Wow, wow, wow! I feel so spoilt! Beautiful projects and all for me! Your packaging is as amazing as your creations! And the photography. So glad you’ve joined the blogging world! Kelly x

    Like

Leave a Reply

